Manage Users
This page shows how to create, import, edit and delete users in Enterprise Glossary.
About Users
Every user needs an account to log in to Enterprise Glossary. Enterprise Glossary has two default user roles:
- Authors: Can create, edit, and delete Entities. The number of authors is limited by your license.
- Visitors: Can only access and read Entities. The number of visitors is unlimited.
- Data Product Visitor: Can only view Data Products in the navigation and search. The number of data product visitors is unlimited.
For information, see Manage Roles.
Administrators
The user type Administrator is independent from the user role, meaning authors and visitors can be administrators. Administrators can:
- Set the default time zone, SAP name format, and the Home screen layout for new users.
- Edit the welcome message in German and English.
- Enable or disable Entity version comments and discussions.
- Customize the appearance of the application.
- Load licenses and view license information.
- Connect Active Directories for single sign-on (SSO).
- Configure email settings for application notifications.
- Define and run cleanup jobs to reduce the number of Entity versions.
- View system information, e.g., the current version and database.
- Set up Connections and Synchronization Jobs for external systems.
- Schedule and run Synchronization Jobs.
For information, see Settings.
Create Users
To create a new Enterprise Glossary user:
- Click the gear icon button () in the navigation bar, then select Maintain Users. The "Maintain Users" menu opens.
- In the upper-left corner of the "Maintain Users" menu, click Create. The user settings open.
- Set the following settings for the user:
- Properties: Configure the user type and user information. The user can later change the user information and password in the user profile.
- Single Sign-On (SSO): Import a user from Microsoft Active Directory, if SSO is set up in the SSO Settings.
- Roles: Assign roles to the user to grant permissions.
- Notifications: Configure when and how users receive notifications. The user can later change notification settings in the user profile.
- Click [Save] to create the user and return to the "Maintain Users" menu.
The new user is now listed in the "Maintain Users" menu.
Edit Users
To change the settings of an existing Enterprise Glossary user:
- Click the gear icon button () in the navigation bar, then select Maintain Users. The "Maintain Users" menu opens.
- Choose the user you want to edit.
- Click the pen icon () in the Actions column of the user. The user settings open.
- Make changes to the user settings.
- Click [Save] to apply the changes and return to the "Maintain Users" menu.
The settings of the user are updated.
Copy Users
To copy the settings of an existing Enterprise Glossary user:
- Click the gear icon button () in the navigation bar, then select Maintain Users. The "Maintain Users" menu opens.
- Choose the user you want to copy.
- Click the copy icon () in the Actions column of the user. A popup window opens.
- Enter the Email address, name and password for the new user.
- Click [Clone] to create the user and return to the "Maintain Users" menu.
The new user is now listed under "Maintain Users" menu.
Delete Users
To delete an Enterprise Glossary user:
- Click the gear icon button () in the navigation bar, then select Maintain Users. The "Maintain Users" menu opens.
- Choose the user you want to delete.
- Click the delete icon () in the Actions column of the user. A popup window opens.
- Click [Yes] to delete the user and return to the "Maintain Users" menu.
The user is removed from the "Maintain Users" menu.